ONE HUNDRED SEVENTH LEGISLATURE - SECOND SESSION - 2022 COMMITTEE STATEMENT LB1046

Hearing Date: Thursday January 27, 2022

Committee On: Natural Resources

Introducer: Bostelman

One Liner: Change provisions relating to selection of the board of directors and chief executive officer of certain

public power districts

Roll Call Vote - Final Committee Action:

Indefinitely postponed

Vote Results:

Aye: 6 Senators Aguilar, Bostelman, Gragert, Hughes, Jacobson, Moser

Nay:

Absent:

Present Not Voting: 2 Senators Cavanaugh, J., Wayne

Oral Testimony:

Proponents: Representing: Bruce Bostelman Introducer

Opponents: Representing:

Neal Suess Loup River PPD; Nebraska Power Association

MaryLee Moulton League of Women Voters of Nebraska

Al Davis Opponent
Javier Fernandez OPPD
Tom Kent NPPD
Neal Niedfeldt SPP
Catherine Carne Self
Katherine Finegan Self

John Hansen Nebraska Farmers Union

Neutral: Representing:

Shelley Shaling Zart LES Ed Schrock Self

Darin Bloomquist Nebraska Electrice G&T

Summary of purpose and/or changes:

LB1046, introduced by Senator Bostelman, changes the way Board of Director members for the larger public power districts are added or replaced, providing a mix of elected and appointed board members beginning in 2024.

LB1046 also provides that the Chief Executive Officer (CEO) of certain public power districts

will be appointed by the governor rather than hired by the boards under private contract once current contracts expire.	
	Bruce Bostelman, Chairperson