ONE HUNDRED SIXTH LEGISLATURE - SECOND SESSION - 2020 COMMITTEE STATEMENT

Hearing Date: Committee On: Introducer: One Liner:	Thursday March 14, 201 Natural Resources McCollister Redefine the terms ne distribution utility	9 t metering and qualified facility and change powers and duties of a local
Roll Call Vote - F Indefinitely	Final Committee Action: postponed	
Vote Results:		
Aye:	8	Senators Albrecht, Bostelman, Geist, Gragert, Halloran, Hughes, Moser,
Nove		Quick
Nay: Absent:		
Present No	ot Voting:	
Proponents:	Oral Testin	Representing:
Senator John Mc	Collister	Introducer
Scott Williams		self
Seth Voyles		Omaha Public Power District
Kenneth Winston		Nebraska Interfaith Power and Light
David Holtzclaw		self
David Levy		Northeast Nebraska Public Power District
Chucjk Monico		CM's A Cut Above
Michael O'Hara		Sierra Club - Nebraska Chapter
Opponents:		Representing:
John Hansen		Nebraska Farmers Union
Shelley Sahling-Z	art	Lincoln Electric System, NMPP Energy, League of Nebraska Municipalities
Leroy Mostek		Nebraska Rural Electric Association, Cuming County Public Power District
Curtis Kayton		Southwest Public Power District
Joe Dixon		self
Kristen Gottscha	lk	Nebraska Rural Electric Association
Michael Shonka		Solar Heat and Electric
Robert Best		self
Neutral:		Representing:
Graham Christen	sen	GC Revolt LLC
Eric Moyer		SWT Energy, Inc

Summary of purpose and/or changes:

LB 509 would amend sections 70-2002 and 70-2003 to:

Increase the maximum permitted level of net metered customer-generation in the state from 25 kilowatts to 100 kilowatts; Create a new rate class for net metered users;

Limit the rate that may be charged users that generate more than 5 kilowatts to a level 20% higher than the utility's equivalent fixed rate for non customer-generators;

Authorize local distribution utilities to cap a customer-generator that generates more than 25 kilowatts at 110% of their average monthly usage, or at 100% of their average monthly usage if the utility can show risk to its distribution system or grid reliability.

Dan Hughes, Chairperson