## ONE HUNDRED SIXTH LEGISLATURE - FIRST SESSION - 2019 COMMITTEE STATEMENT LB267

**Hearing Date:** Thursday March 07, 2019

Committee On: Government, Military and Veterans Affairs

Introducer: Bolz

One Liner: Provide a duty for the county board relating to deficient bridges and authorize a tax levy

## **Roll Call Vote - Final Committee Action:**

Advanced to General File with amendment(s)

**Vote Results:** 

Aye: 8 Senators Blood, Brewer, Hansen, M., Hilgers, Hunt, Kolowski, La

Grone, Lowe

Nay:

Absent:

**Present Not Voting:** 

**Oral Testimony:** 

Proponents: Representing:
Senator Kate Bolz Introducer

Jennifer Brinkman Lancaster County Board of Commissioners

Pam Dingman Lancaster County Engineering
Todd Wiltgen Lincoln Chamber of Commerce

Jon Cannon NACO

William Mueller Associated General Contractors Nebraska Chapter

Ron Sedlacek Nebraska Chamber of Commerce

Opponents: Representing:

Dustin Antonello Lincoln Independent Business Association

Neutral: Representing:

## Summary of purpose and/or changes:

LB 267 would create a new duty on counties relating to the repair, retrofitting, reconstruction, or replacement of county-owned bridges found "deficient by Department of Transportation standards."

The bill would also authorize use of the county's levy authority under Neb. Rev. Stat. Section 23-120(3)(b) for "bridges owned by the county that are deemed scour critical or structurally deficient" under the standards.

## **Explanation of amendments:**

The committee amendment, AM 1245, differs from the introduced bill in two respects:

1. It limits usage of the levy authority to cases where the county board declares an emergency and where either (a) the President of the United States has declared a disaster, or (b) the bridge is designated as scour critical or structurally deficient under DOT standards.

| <ol> <li>It imposes a new requirement that all uses of the authority under Section 23-12<br/>two-thirds of the county board.</li> </ol> | 20(a) be only with the approval of |
|---|------------------------------------|
|   |                                    |
|   | Tom Brewer, Chairperson            |
|   |                                    |
|   |                                    |
|   |                                    |
|   |                                    |
|   |                                    |
|   |                                    |
|   |                                    |
|   |                                    |
|   |                                    |
|   |                                    |
|   |                                    |
|   |                                    |
|   |                                    |
|   |                                    |
|   |                                    |
|   |                                    |