ONE HUNDRED SIXTH LEGISLATURE - SECOND SESSION - 2020 COMMITTEE STATEMENT LB1207

Hearing Date: Wednesday February 12, 2020

Committee On: Executive Board Introducer: McCollister

One Liner: Adopt the Redistricting Act

Roll Call Vote - Final Committee Action:

Advanced to General File

Vote Results:

Aye: 5 Senators Bolz, Chambers, Kolterman, McCollister, Vargas

Nay: 4 Senators Hilgers, Hughes, Lowe, Scheer

Absent:

Present Not Voting:

Oral Testimony:

Proponents: Representing:

John McCollister Self

John Hansen Nebraska Farmers Union

Danielle Conrad ACLU of Nebraska

Sherri St. Clair League of Women Voters

Westin Miller Civic Nebraska

Opponents: Representing:

Neutral: Representing:

Gavin Geis Common Cause Nebraska

Summary of purpose and/or changes:

The stated purpose of this Redistricting Act is to establish the procedures to divide the state into districts by designating boundary lines based on population.

Maps would be required to be drawn using politically neutral criteria, including:

Equality of population - plus or minus a 1% or less deviation;

Contiguous districts;

No consideration of political affiliation;

No consideration of previous voting data, or election results;

Data and demographic information only from the Census Bureau; and

Deference to county and municipal boundary lines.

The bill also establishes certain procedures:

The bill incorporating the initial version of the maps could not be placed on General File until fourteen calendar days after the last public hearing;

The committee would distribute the federal decennial census data and make the maps public. The committee would then hold at least one public hearing in each congressional district;

No changes, other than corrective amendments (defined as an amendment which corrects a technical error) would be allowed to the initial version;

If the Legislature fails to enact redistricting legislation prior to adjournment, the Governor would call a special session within 30 days and the Director of Research and the committee would begin a new initial version of the map.

Mike Hilgers, Chairperson