ONE HUNDRED FIFTH LEGISLATURE

SECOND SESSION

LEGISLATIVE RESOLUTION 476

Introduced by McCollister, 20; Thibodeau, 6.

WHEREAS, Deb Sondall Saetveit, school librarian at Westside Middle School in Omaha, is the recipient of the 2018 American Association of School Librarians' (AASL) Frances Henne Award; and

WHEREAS, the \$1,250 award recognizes a school librarian with five or fewer years of experience who demonstrates leadership qualities with students, teachers and administrators; and

WHEREAS, while teaching English at the secondary level, Deb Sondall Saetveit realized her love of education, literacy, collaboration and research made her well suited for the role of school librarian; and

WHEREAS, Deb Sondall Saetveit completed her master's degree in library and information science in 2016 and now serves as the librarian at the same middle school where she previously taught; and

WHEREAS, school librarians play vital and multifaceted roles in their schools: collaborating with other educators in curriculum development, promoting literacy and a love of reading, and integrating technology. The Frances Henne Award recognizes Deb Sondall Saetveit's exemplary service as a school librarian.

NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED BY THE MEMBERS OF THE ONE HUNDRED FIFTH LEGISLATURE OF NEBRASKA, SECOND SESSION:

- 1. That the Legislature congratulates Deb Sondall Saetveit for winning the 2018 American Association of School Librarians' Frances Henne Award.
- 2. That copies of this resolution be sent to Deb Sondall Saetveit and Westside Community Schools Superintendent Dr. Blane McCann.