ONE HUNDRED FIFTH LEGISLATURE

SECOND SESSION

LEGISLATIVE RESOLUTION 266

Introduced by Hughes, 44.

Read first time January 03, 2018

Committee: Natural Resources

WHEREAS, the United States Department of Interior, Bureau of Reclamation, recently announced new policies that will restrict the transferability of permits for lots around Hugh Butler Lake, Harry Strunk Lake, and Swanson Reservoir and that will require the removal of nonpermanent structures, such as mobile homes, from those lots; and

WHEREAS, the new policies change a half century of past practices; and
WHEREAS, businesses and residents from small towns near Hugh Butler Lake,
Harry Strunk Lake, and Swanson Reservoir are concerned about adverse
consequences related to the economic impact of the new Bureau of Reclamation
policies; and

WHEREAS, Hugh Butler Lake, Harry Strunk Lake, and Swanson Reservoir permit holders have sought to work with the Bureau of Reclamation and the Nebraska congressional delegation to find an amicable resolution to the concerns of all interested parties.

NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED BY THE MEMBERS OF THE ONE HUNDRED FIFTH LEGISLATURE OF NEBRASKA, SECOND SESSION:

- 1. That the Legislature urges the United States Department of the Interior, Bureau of Reclamation and the Nebraska congressional delegation to work together to find a solution that allows people occupying lots around Hugh Butler Lake, Harry Strunk Lake, and Swanson Reservoir to freely transfer their permits and leave nonpermanent structures, such as mobile homes, on the lots.
- 2. That the Legislature also urges the Nebraska Game and Parks Commission to consider taking such action as may be helpful to bring about a solution that

allows for the transfer of permits and for nonpermanent structures to remain on lots around Hugh Butler Lake, Harry Strunk Lake, and Swanson Reservoir.

3. That a copy of this resolution be sent to Secretary of the Interior Ryan Zinke, Commissioner of the Bureau of Reclamation Brenda Burman, the Nebraska Game and Parks Commission, and each member of the Nebraska congressional delegation.