LEGISLATURE OF NEBRASKA

ONE HUNDRED FIFTH LEGISLATURE

SECOND SESSION

LEGISLATIVE BILL 697

Introduced by Ebke, 32.

Read first time January 03, 2018

Committee: Judiciary

- 1 A BILL FOR AN ACT relating to courts; to amend section 24-301.02, Reissue
- 2 Revised Statutes of Nebraska; to change the boundaries of certain
- 3 district court judicial districts; to eliminate obsolete provisions;
- 4 and to repeal the original section.
- 5 Be it enacted by the people of the State of Nebraska,

1 Section 1. Section 24-301.02, Reissue Revised Statutes of Nebraska,

LB697

2018

- 2 is amended to read:
- 3 24-301.02 The State of Nebraska shall be divided into the following
- 4 twelve district court judicial districts:
- 5 District No. 1 shall contain the counties of Clay, Nuckolls, Saline,
- 6 Jefferson, Gage, Thayer, Johnson, Pawnee, Nemaha, Fillmore, and
- 7 Richardson, and Otoe;
- 8 District No. 2 shall contain the counties of Sarpy, and Cass, and
- 10 District No. 3 shall contain the county of Lancaster;
- 11 District No. 4 shall contain the county of Douglas;
- 12 District No. 5 shall contain the counties of Merrick, Platte,
- 13 Colfax, Boone, Nance, Hamilton, Polk, York, Butler, Seward, and Saunders;
- 14 District No. 6 shall contain the counties of Dixon, Dakota, Cedar,
- 15 Burt, Thurston, Dodge, and Washington;
- District No. 7 shall contain the counties of Knox, Cuming, Antelope,
- 17 Pierce, Wayne, Madison, and Stanton;
- 18 District No. 8 shall contain the counties of Cherry, Keya Paha,
- 19 Brown, Rock, Blaine, Loup, Custer, Boyd, Holt, Garfield, Wheeler, Valley,
- 20 Greeley, Sherman, and Howard;
- 21 District No. 9 shall contain the counties of Buffalo and Hall;
- 22 District No. 10 shall contain the counties of Adams, Phelps,
- 23 Kearney, Harlan, Franklin, and Webster, Clay, and Nuckolls;
- 24 District No. 11 shall contain the counties of Hooker, Thomas,
- 25 Arthur, McPherson, Logan, Keith, Perkins, Lincoln, Dawson, Chase, Hayes,
- 26 Frontier, Gosper, Dundy, Hitchcock, Red Willow, and Furnas; and
- 27 District No. 12 shall contain the counties of Sioux, Dawes, Box
- 28 Butte, Sheridan, Scotts Bluff, Morrill, Garden, Banner, Kimball,
- 29 Cheyenne, Grant, and Deuel.
- 30 In the fourth district there shall be sixteen judges of the district
- 31 court. In the third district, until June 30, 2011, there shall be seven

- 1 judges of the district court and, beginning July 1, 2011, there shall be
- 2 eight judges of the district court. In the second, fifth, ninth,
- 3 eleventh, and twelfth districts there shall be four judges of the
- 4 district court. In the first and sixth districts there shall be three
- 5 judges of the district court. In the seventh, eighth, and tenth districts
- 6 there shall be two judges of the district court.
- 7 Sec. 2. Original section 24-301.02, Reissue Revised Statutes of
- 8 Nebraska, is repealed.