LEGISLATURE OF NEBRASKA ONE HUNDRED FIFTH LEGISLATURE SECOND SESSION

LEGISLATIVE BILL 696

Introduced by Ebke, 32. Read first time January 03, 2018 Committee: Judiciary

- A BILL FOR AN ACT relating to courts; to amend section 24-301.02, Reissue
 Revised Statutes of Nebraska; to increase the number of district
 judges in the fourth judicial district; to eliminate obsolete
 provisions; and to repeal the original section.
- 5 Be it enacted by the people of the State of Nebraska,

Section 1. Section 24-301.02, Reissue Revised Statutes of Nebraska,
 is amended to read:

3 24-301.02 The State of Nebraska shall be divided into the following
4 twelve district court judicial districts:

District No. 1 shall contain the counties of Clay, Nuckolls, Saline,
Jefferson, Gage, Thayer, Johnson, Pawnee, Nemaha, Fillmore, and
Richardson;

District No. 2 shall contain the counties of Sarpy, Cass, and Otoe;
District No. 3 shall contain the county of Lancaster;

10 District No. 4 shall contain the county of Douglas;

District No. 5 shall contain the counties of Merrick, Platte, Colfax, Boone, Nance, Hamilton, Polk, York, Butler, Seward, and Saunders; District No. 6 shall contain the counties of Dixon, Dakota, Cedar, Burt, Thurston, Dodge, and Washington;

District No. 7 shall contain the counties of Knox, Cuming, Antelope,
Pierce, Wayne, Madison, and Stanton;

District No. 8 shall contain the counties of Cherry, Keya Paha, Brown, Rock, Blaine, Loup, Custer, Boyd, Holt, Garfield, Wheeler, Valley, Greeley, Sherman, and Howard;

20 District No. 9 shall contain the counties of Buffalo and Hall;

District No. 10 shall contain the counties of Adams, Phelps,
Kearney, Harlan, Franklin, and Webster;

23 District No. 11 shall contain the counties of Hooker, Thomas, 24 Arthur, McPherson, Logan, Keith, Perkins, Lincoln, Dawson, Chase, Hayes, 25 Frontier, Gosper, Dundy, Hitchcock, Red Willow, and Furnas; and

District No. 12 shall contain the counties of Sioux, Dawes, Box Butte, Sheridan, Scotts Bluff, Morrill, Garden, Banner, Kimball, Cheyenne, Grant, and Deuel.

In the fourth district there shall be <u>seventeen</u> sixteen judges of the district court. In the third district, until June 30, 2011, there shall be seven judges of the district court and, beginning July 1, 2011,

-2-

there shall be eight judges of the district court. In the second, fifth, ninth, eleventh, and twelfth districts there shall be four judges of the district court. In the first and sixth districts there shall be three judges of the district court. In the seventh, eighth, and tenth districts there shall be two judges of the district court.

6 Sec. 2. Original section 24-301.02, Reissue Revised Statutes of
7 Nebraska, is repealed.