
ONE HUNDRED FIFTH LEGISLATURE - SECOND SESSION - 2018
COMMITTEE STATEMENT

LB42
 
 
Hearing Date: Monday February 27, 2017
Committee On: Transportation and Telecommunications
Introducer: Hilkemann
One Liner: Change occupant protection system provisions for children and adopt certain federal safety

provisions
 
 
Roll Call Vote - Final Committee Action:
          Advanced to General File with amendment(s)
 
 
Vote Results:
          Aye: 5 Senators Bostelman, Briese, Friesen, Hilgers, Smith
          Nay: 3 Senators Geist, Hughes, Murante
          Absent:   
          Present Not Voting:   
 
 

Verbal Testimony:
Proponents: Representing: 
Senator Robert Hilkemann District 4
Jennifer Brock Aidan's Animals
Rose White AAA - The Auto Club Group
Laurie Klosterboer Nebraska Safety Council
Laura Osborne Southeast Safety for Kids
Amy Borg CHI Health
Amanda Ablott Mary Lanning Healthcare
Christa Thelen National Safety Council Nebraska
 
Opponents: Representing: 
 
Neutral: Representing: 
 
 
Summary of purpose and/or changes:
The bill amends provisions of law related to the utilization of motor vehicle child safety restraint devices.

Current law requires any child up to 6 years of age be secured in an approved child safety restraint device that is
correctly installed in the vehicle. 
LB 42 amends the law as follows:

The maximum age when use of an approved restraint device must be utilized is revised from up to 6 years of age to up
to 8 years of age; and

The device must occupy the rear seat of the vehicle, if available, and all children up to 2 years of age shall use a
rear-facing device until the child outgrows the height or weight requirements established by the manufacturer.     
 
 
Explanation of amendments:
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AM 750 provides clarification that riders under the age of eight years are to ride in the back seats if (a) the seats are
equipped with a qualified and correctly installed passenger restraint system, and (b) the seats are not already occupied
by a child under the age of eight. The language relating to when children up to two years of age are no longer required
to use a rear-facing child passenger restraint system because of a child's height or weight is also clarified.

 

Curt Friesen, Chairperson
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