ONE HUNDRED FOURTH LEGISLATURE - FIRST SESSION - 2015 COMMITTEE STATEMENT LR7CA

Hearing Date:	Monday February 23, 2015
Committee On:	Executive Board
Introducer:	Schumacher
One Liner:	Constitutional amendment to limit service of members of the Legislature to two 6-year terms

Roll Call Vote - Final Committee Action:

Advanced to General File with amendment(s)

Vote Results:

Ауе:	9	Senators Campbell, Chambers, Coash, Hadley, Hughes, Krist, Larson, Murante, Watermeier
Nay:		
Absent:		
Present Not Voting:		

Verbal Testimony:	
Proponents:	Representing:
Senator Paul Schumacher	Introducer
Ron Sedlacek	Nebraska Chamber of Commerce
Walt Radcliffe	NE Realtors Association and NE Cable
	Communications Association
Opponents:	Representing:
Neutral:	Representing:

Summary of purpose and/or changes:

At the general election in November 2016, voters would be given the opportunity to amend Article III, sections 7 and 12 of the Nebraska Constitution.

The proposal would amend section 7 so that beginning with the general election in November 2020 and then in November 2022, and every six years thereafter, voters would elect members of the Legislature to six year terms instead of four year terms. Section 12 would be amended to change the term limit provision so that a member of the Legislature could serve two consecutive six-year terms, instead of two consecutive four-year terms.

Explanation of amendments:

The committee amendment (AM822) proposes to amend Article III, section 12 of the Nebraska Constitution to allow members of the Legislature to serve three consecutive four-year terms, instead of two consecutive six-year terms, as provided in the introduced version of the resolution.

The committee amendment also incorporates LR31CA by striking the provision in Article III, section 12 which provides that "service in office for more than one half of a term shall be deemed service for a term." This changes would give a member who is appointed to fill out a partial legislative term the ability to run for an additional term, no matter when the

appointment was made.

Bob Krist, Chairperson