# ONE HUNDRED FOURTH LEGISLATURE - FIRST SESSION - 2015 COMMITTEE STATEMENT

LB610

Hearing Date:Friday March 06, 2015Committee On:RevenueIntroducer:SmithOne Liner:Change motor fuel excise taxes

## **Roll Call Vote - Final Committee Action:**

Advanced to General File

#### Vote Results:

Aye:	5	Senators Gloor, Harr, Scheer, Schumacher, Smith
Nay:	2	Senators Brasch, Sullivan
Absent:	1	Senator Davis
Present Not Votin	g:	

### Verbal Testimony:

Proponents:	Representing:
Senator Jim Smith	Introducer
Richard Reiser	Nebraska Trucking Association
Pam Dingman	Lancaster County Engineering, Lancaster County
Larry Hudkins	Nebraska Farm Bureau
Dan Thiele	Professional Engineers Coalition
Mark Lutjeharms	American Council of Engineering Companies/Nebraska
Katie Wilson	Nebraska Chapter of the Associated General
	Contractors of America
Dennis Schaardt	Pawnee County Commissioner
Jerry Radke	Deuel County Commissioner
Larry Dix	NACO
Marlene Johnson	League of Nebraska Municipalities, City of West Point
Larry Johnson	Nebraska Trucking Association
Loran Schmit	ANEEP
John Hansen	Nebraska Farmers Union
Opponents:	Representing:
Matt Litt	Americans for Prosperity-Nebraska
John Dilsaver	Nebraska Petroleum Marketers
Richard Halvorsen	Self
Neutral:	Representing:
Josh Moenning	4 Lanes 4 Nebraska
David Brown	Greater Omaha Chamber

## Summary of purpose and/or changes:

LB 610 would increase the fixed motor fuels tax rate by 1.5 cents every year for four years. Of the two components of the fixed rate, the portion allocated to the Nebraska Department of Roads would increase 1/2 cent every year, from 7.5 cents to 9.5 cents. The portion that is allocated to cities and counties would increase one cent every year from 2.8 cents

to 6.8 cents. Beginning January 2019, the total fixed rate motor fuels tax would be 16.3 cents per gallon.

Mike Gloor, Chairperson