ONE HUNDRED FOURTH LEGISLATURE - FIRST SESSION - 2015 COMMITTEE STATEMENT LB142

Hearing Date: Wednesday January 21, 2015

Committee On: Natural Resources

Introducer: Schilz

One Liner: Create the Aquatic Invasive Species Program and provide funding

Roll Call Vote - Final Committee Action:

Advanced to General File with amendment(s)

Vote Results:

Aye: 8 Senators Friesen, Hughes, Johnson, Kolowski, Lindstrom, McCollister,

Schilz, Schnoor

Nay:

Absent:

Present Not Voting:

Verbal Testimony:

Proponents: Representing:

Laurie Lage Introducer

Karie Decker Game and Parks Commission

Allison Zach

Wes Sheets

Nebraska Invasive Species Advisory Council

Nebraska Division Izaak Walton League

Arnie Stuthman S

Terry Julesgard Lower Niobrara Natural Resources District; Nebraska

Invasive Species Advisory Council

Jeff Buettner Central Nebraska Public Power and Irrigation District

Justin King Nebraska Public Power District

Opponents: Representing:

Neutral: Representing:

Summary of purpose and/or changes:

LB 142 creates the Aquatic Invasive Species Program and places a fee on motorboat registrations and renewals in Nebraska to fund the program, which will be administered by the Game and Parks Commission. Duties may include monitoring and sampling Nebraska waters for invasive species, hiring personnel, buying inspection and decontamination equipment, and providing enforcement, education and research services relating to aquatic invasive species. The bill authorizes fees of at least \$5 but no more than \$10 per vessel registering or renewing in Nebraska, and would require that out of state motorboat owners pay a stamp fee of at least \$10 but no more than \$15 for motorboats they will be operating in Nebraska waters.

Explanation of amendments:

AM 45 requires, instead of allows, that the funds collected for the Aquatic Invasive Species Program be used for invasive species projects, which may include the listed activities. The amendment also clarifies that fees are on motorboats, and eliminates the effective date listed in the bill.

Ken Schilz, Chairperson