ONE HUNDRED FOURTH LEGISLATURE - SECOND SESSION - 2016 COMMITTEE STATEMENT LB1059

Hearing Date: Committee On: Introducer: One Liner:	Tuesday February 09, 2010 Urban Affairs Crawford Require certain disclosures Economic Development Ac	s under the Community Development Law and the Local Option Municipal
Roll Call Vote - Final Committee Action: Advanced to General File with amendment(s)		
Vote Results: Aye:	7	Senators Coash, Crawford, Ebke, Hansen, Howard, Hughes, McCollister
Nay:		
Absent:		
Present No	ot Voting:	
	Verbal Testim	ony:
Proponents:		Representing:
Sue Crawford		District 45
Lance Hedquist		City of South Sioux City
Joe Kohout		United Cities of Sarpy County
Lynn Rex		League of Nebraska Municipalities
Jack Cheloha		City of Omaha
Jane Kinsey		Watchdogs of Lincoln Government
Opponents:		Representing:
Neutral:		Representing:

Summary of purpose and/or changes:

LB 1059 would require that prior to applying to participate in an economic development program under the Local Option Municipal Economic Development Act or entering into a redevelopment contract that includes the use of tax-increment financing (TIF), a business must certify the following information: 1) whether the business has filed or intends to file an application to receive tax incentives under the Nebraska Advantage Act for the same project; 2) whether such application includes or will include a refund of the municipality's local option sales tax revenue; 3) a good faith estimate of the total amount of tax incentives the business expects to receive under the Nebraska Advantage Act for any such application; and 4) whether such application has been approved under the Nebraska Advantage Act.

Explanation of amendments:

The committee amendment AM 2067 replaces the bill:

AM 2067 incorporates the provisions of LB 1059 as well as the provisions of two other bills heard by the committee: LB 808 and LB 860. Summary information for these bills can be found on the Committee Statements for LB 808 and LB 860.

AM 2067 would also add a severability clause.

Sue Crawford, Chairperson