# ONE HUNDRED THIRD LEGISLATURE - FIRST SESSION - 2013 COMMITTEE STATEMENT

LB536

| Hearing Date: | Monday March 18, 2013            |
|---------------|----------------------------------|
| Committee On: | Business and Labor               |
| Introducer:   | Business and Labor               |
| One Liner:    | Approve claims against the state |

## **Roll Call Vote - Final Committee Action:**

Advanced to General File with amendment(s)

#### Vote Results:

|  | Aye:                | 5 | Senators Ashford, Hansen, Lathrop, Wallman, McGill |  |
|--|---------------------|---|--|--|
|  | Nay:                |   |  |  |
|  | Absent:             | 1 | Senator Chambers                                   |  |
|  | Present Not Voting: | 1 | Senator Harr                                       |  |
|  |                     |   |  |  |

| Proponents:      | Representing:                      |
|------------------|------------------------------------|
| Molly Burton     | Introducer                         |
| Shannon Anderson | AS Risk Management                 |
| Allen Beermann   | Nebraska Press Association         |
| David Cookson    | Attorney General's Office          |
| Kerrey Winterer  | Nebraska Health and Human Services |
| Randy Peters     | Nebraska Department of Roads       |
| Sharon Lindgren  | Nebraska Department of Corrections |
| Opponents:       | Representing:                      |
| Neutral:         | Representing:                      |

## Summary of purpose and/or changes:

LB 536 was introduced by the Business and Labor Committee at the request of the Department of Administrative Services, Risk Management Division. This bill introduces the claims against the State that are required by statute to be reviewed and approved by the Legislature.

### Explanation of amendments:

The committee amendment adds a miscellaneous claim against the Nebraska State Patrol for \$302,461.44. The amendment additionally makes a change to a settlement amount and technical changes to two agency write-off requests.

Steve Lathrop, Chairperson