## ONE HUNDRED THIRD LEGISLATURE - FIRST SESSION - 2013 COMMITTEE STATEMENT LB504

Hearing Date: Wednesday February 20, 2013

Committee On: Government, Military and Veterans Affairs

Introducer: Coash

One Liner: Change Commission on Indian Affairs state assistance for political subdivisions provisions

## **Roll Call Vote - Final Committee Action:**

Advanced to General File with amendment(s)

Vote Results:

Aye: 8 Senators Avery, Bloomfield, Karpisek, Lautenbaugh, Murante, Price,

Scheer, Wallman

Nay:

Absent:

**Present Not Voting:** 

Proponents: Representing:

Senator Colby Coash Introducer

Judi gaiashkibos Nebraska Commission on Indian Affairs
Scott Shafer Nebraska Commission on Indian Affairs

Opponents: Representing:

Neutral: Representing:

## Summary of purpose and/or changes:

LB 504 changes provisions relating to political subdivisions applying for assistance to the Commission on Indian Affairs.

The bill redefines political subdivision to mean a city, village or county within a 60 mile radius of an Indian reservation or a tribal government that owns land within the 60 mile radius. Current law defines political subdivision as a city, village or county within 30 miles of a census designated place.

The bill eliminates the definition of census designated place. It also eliminates the requirement that the political subdivision's application receive a public hearing.

Finally, the bill adds education to the list of items for which a political subdivision may use the state assistance. Currently, the state assistance may be used for economic development, health care and law enforcement.

## **Explanation of amendments:**

The committee amendment makes two changes to the original bill.

First, the amendment expands who is eligible to apply for state assistance to include nonprofit corporations.

Secondly, the amendment allows the Commission on Indian Affairs to use the funds in the Designated Collection Fund directly for economic development, education, health care, and law enforcement if no applicants are approved.

Bill Avery, Chairperson