ONE HUNDRED FIRST LEGISLATURE - FIRST SESSION - 2009 COMMITTEE STATEMENT LR224

Hearing Date: Tuesday May 26, 2009

Committee On: Executive Board

Introducer: Mello

One Liner: Create the Budget Reform Task Force

Roll Call Vote - Final Committee Action:

Report to the Legislature for further consideration with amendment(s)

Vote Results:

Aye: 8 Senators Christensen, Fischer, Flood, Langemeier, Nelson, Pahls,

White, Wightman

Nay:

Absent: 1 Senator Karpisek

Present Not Voting:

Proponents: Representing:

Senator Heath Mello Introducer

Opponents: Representing:

Neutral: Representing:

Summary of purpose and/or changes:

LR 224 calls for the Executive Board to appoint a task force to be known as the Budget Reform Task Force of the Legislature. The committee shall consist of 11 members, including the following:

Chairperson of the Executive Board, or his or her designee;

Chairperson of the Appropriations Committee, or his or her designee;

Chairperson of the Education Committee, or his or her designee;

Chairperson of the Legislature's Planning Committee, or his or her designee;

Two other members of the Appropriations Committee, appointed by the chairperson;

Two members of the Revenue Committee, appointed by the chairperson;

Three members from other committees, appointed by the Executive Board.

The task force shall elect a chairperson and vice-chairperson from its members.

The task force is authorized to study issues pertaining to the budgeting process for the State of Nebraska.

The task force is to issue a report to the Legislature no later than June 30, 2010.

Explanation of amendments:

The committee amendment does the following:

Changes the membership of the Task Force to be the members of the Appropriations Committee, instead of an

11-member committee made up of various members of the Legislature.	
Provides a sunset date for the task force of June 30, 2010.	
	John Wightman, Chairperson
	gom mg.m.a., granpoissi.