## LEGISLATURE OF NEBRASKA

ONE HUNDREDTH LEGISLATURE

FIRST SESSION

## LEGISLATIVE BILL 377

Introduced by Ashford, 20

Read first time January 12, 2007

Committee: Judiciary

## A BILL

1	FOR AN ACT relating to courts; to amend section 24-301.02, Revised
2	Statutes Cumulative Supplement, 2006; to reallocate
3	district court judgeships; to provide an operative date;
4	to repeal the original section; and to declare an
5	emergency.

6 Be it enacted by the people of the State of Nebraska,

LB 377 LB 377 Section 1. Section 24-301.02, Revised Statutes Cumulative 1 2 Supplement, 2006, is amended to read: 3 24-301.02 The State of Nebraska shall be divided into the 4 following twelve district court judicial districts: 5 District No. 1 shall contain the counties of Clay, 6 Nuckolls, Saline, Jefferson, Gage, Thayer, Johnson, Pawnee, Nemaha, Fillmore, and Richardson; 7 8 District No. 2 shall contain the counties of Sarpy, Cass, 9 and Otoe; 10 District No. 3 shall contain the county of Lancaster; 11 District No. 4 shall contain the county of Douglas; 12 District No. 5 shall contain the counties of Merrick, 13 Platte, Colfax, Boone, Nance, Hamilton, Polk, York, Butler, Seward, and Saunders; 14 District No. 6 shall contain the counties of Dixon, 15 16 Dakota, Cedar, Burt, Thurston, Dodge, and Washington; 17 District No. 7 shall contain the counties of Knox, 18 Cuming, Antelope, Pierce, Wayne, Madison, and Stanton; 19 District No. 8 shall contain the counties of Cherry, 20 Keya Paha, Brown, Rock, Blaine, Loup, Custer, Boyd, Holt, Garfield, 21 Wheeler, Valley, Greeley, Sherman, and Howard; District No. 9 shall contain the counties of Buffalo and 22 23 Hall; 24 District No. 10 shall contain the counties of Adams, 25 Phelps, Kearney, Harlan, Franklin, and Webster;

-2-

LB 377

District No. 11 shall contain the counties of Hooker, 1 2 Thomas, Arthur, McPherson, Logan, Keith, Perkins, Lincoln, Dawson, 3 Chase, Hayes, Frontier, Gosper, Dundy, Hitchcock, Red Willow, and Furnas; and 4 District No. 12 shall contain the counties of Sioux, 5 Dawes, Box Butte, Sheridan, Scotts Bluff, Morrill, Garden, Banner, 6 7 Kimball, Cheyenne, Grant, and Deuel. 8 In the fourth district there shall be sixteen judges of 9 the district court. In the third district there shall be seven 10 judges of the district court. In the twelfth district there shall 11 be five judges of the district court. In the second, fifth, ninth, 12 and eleventh districts there shall be four judges of the district 13 court. In the first, sixth, and ninth and sixth districts there shall be three judges of the district court. In the seventh, 14 eighth, and tenth districts there shall be two judges of the 15 16 district court. Sec. 2. This act becomes operative on July 1, 2007. 17 18 Sec. 3. Original section 24-301.02, Revised Statutes Cumulative Supplement, 2006, is repealed. 19

20 Sec. 4. Since an emergency exists, this act takes effect 21 when passed and approved according to law.

LB 377

-3-