LEGISLATURE OF NEBRASKA

ONE HUNDREDTH LEGISLATURE

FIRST SESSION

## **LEGISLATIVE BILL 377**

FINAL READING

Introduced by Ashford, 20

Read first time January 12, 2007

Committee: Judiciary

## A BILL

1	FOR AN ACT relating to courts; to amend section 43-2,119, Reissue
2	Revised Statutes of Nebraska, and sections 24-201.01,
3	24-301.02, and 24-503, Revised Statutes Cumulative
4	Supplement, 2006; to change salary provisions of judges;
5	to reallocate district, county, and separate juvenile
6	court judgeships; to provide an operative date; to repeal
7	the original sections; and to declare an emergency.
8	Be it enacted by the people of the State of Nebraska,

Section 1. Section 24-201.01, Revised Statutes Cumulative
 Supplement, 2006, is amended to read:

3 24-201.01 On July 1, 2002, the salary of the Chief Justice and judges of the Supreme Court shall be one hundred 4 5 nineteen thousand two hundred seventy-six dollars. On July 1, 2005, 6 the salary of the Chief Justice and the judges of the Supreme Court 7 shall be one hundred twenty-two thousand eight hundred fifty-four 8 dollars. On July 1, 2006, the salary of the Chief Justice and 9 the judges of the Supreme Court shall be one hundred twenty-six 10 thousand eight hundred forty-six dollars. On July 1, 2007, the 11 salary of the Chief Justice and the judges of the Supreme Court 12 shall be one hundred thirty-one thousand two hundred eighty-five 13 dollars and sixty-one cents. On July 1, 2008, the salary of the Chief Justice and the judges of the Supreme Court shall be one 14 15 hundred thirty-five thousand eight hundred eighty dollars and sixty 16 cents.

17 The Chief Justice and the judges of the Supreme Court 18 shall hold no other public office of profit or trust during their 19 terms of office nor accept any public appointment or employment 20 under the authority of the government of the United States for 21 which they receive compensation for their services. Such salaries 22 shall be payable in equal monthly installments.

23 Sec. 2. Section 24-301.02, Revised Statutes Cumulative
24 Supplement, 2006, is amended to read:

25 24-301.02 The State of Nebraska shall be divided into the

-2-

LB 377

1 following twelve district court judicial districts:

2 District No. 1 shall contain the counties of Clay, 3 Nuckolls, Saline, Jefferson, Gage, Thayer, Johnson, Pawnee, Nemaha, 4 Fillmore, and Richardson; 5 District No. 2 shall contain the counties of Sarpy, Cass, 6 and Otoe; 7 District No. 3 shall contain the county of Lancaster; 8 District No. 4 shall contain the county of Douglas; 9 District No. 5 shall contain the counties of Merrick, 10 Platte, Colfax, Boone, Nance, Hamilton, Polk, York, Butler, Seward, 11 and Saunders; 12 District No. 6 shall contain the counties of Dixon, 13 Dakota, Cedar, Burt, Thurston, Dodge, and Washington; District No. 7 shall contain the counties of Knox, 14 15 Cuming, Antelope, Pierce, Wayne, Madison, and Stanton; 16 District No. 8 shall contain the counties of Cherry, Keya Paha, Brown, Rock, Blaine, Loup, Custer, Boyd, Holt, Garfield, 17 18 Wheeler, Valley, Greeley, Sherman, and Howard; 19 District No. 9 shall contain the counties of Buffalo and 20 Hall; 21 District No. 10 shall contain the counties of Adams, Phelps, Kearney, Harlan, Franklin, and Webster; 22 23 District No. 11 shall contain the counties of Hooker, 24 Thomas, Arthur, McPherson, Logan, Keith, Perkins, Lincoln, Dawson, 25 Chase, Hayes, Frontier, Gosper, Dundy, Hitchcock, Red Willow, and

-3-

1 Furnas; and

2 District No. 12 shall contain the counties of Sioux,
3 Dawes, Box Butte, Sheridan, Scotts Bluff, Morrill, Garden, Banner,
4 Kimball, Cheyenne, Grant, and Deuel.

5 In the fourth district there shall be sixteen judges of the district court. In the third district there shall be seven 6 7 judges of the district court. In the twelfth district there shall 8 be five judges of the district court. In the second, fifth, ninth, 9 eleventh, and twelfth and eleventh districts there shall be four 10 judges of the district court. In the first, sixth, and ninth and 11 sixth districts there shall be three judges of the district court. 12 In the seventh, eighth, and tenth districts there shall be two 13 judges of the district court.

Sec. 3. Section 24-503, Revised Statutes Cumulative
Supplement, 2006, is amended to read:

24-503 For the purpose of serving the county courts in
each county, twelve county judge districts are hereby created:

District No. 1 shall contain the counties of Saline,
Jefferson, Gage, Thayer, Johnson, Pawnee, Nemaha, and Richardson;

20 District No. 2 shall contain the counties of Sarpy, Cass,
21 and Otoe;

District No. 3 shall contain the county of Lancaster;
District No. 4 shall contain the county of Douglas;
District No. 5 shall contain the counties of Merrick,
Platte, Colfax, Boone, Nance, Hamilton, Polk, York, Butler, Seward,

-4-

1 and Saunders; District No. 6 shall contain the counties of Dixon, 2 3 Dakota, Cedar, Burt, Thurston, Dodge, and Washington; 4 District No. 7 shall contain the counties of Knox, 5 Cuming, Antelope, Pierce, Wayne, Madison, and Stanton; 6 District No. 8 shall contain the counties of Cherry, 7 Keya Paha, Brown, Rock, Blaine, Loup, Custer, Boyd, Holt, Garfield, 8 Wheeler, Valley, Greeley, Sherman, and Howard; 9 District No. 9 shall contain the counties of Buffalo and 10 Hall; 11 District No. 10 shall contain the counties of Fillmore, 12 Adams, Clay, Phelps, Kearney, Harlan, Franklin, Webster, and 13 Nuckolls; District No. 11 shall contain the counties of Hooker, 14 15 Thomas, Arthur, McPherson, Logan, Keith, Perkins, Lincoln, Dawson, 16 Chase, Hayes, Frontier, Gosper, Dundy, Hitchcock, Red Willow, and 17 Furnas; and 18 District No. 12 shall contain the counties of Sioux, 19 Dawes, Box Butte, Sheridan, Scotts Bluff, Morrill, Garden, Banner, 20 Kimball, Cheyenne, Grant, and Deuel. 21 District 4 shall have twelve county judges. Districts  $3_{7}$ 22  $5_7$  and 12 and 5 shall have six county judges. District 11 Districts 11 and 12 shall have five county judges. Districts 2, 6, and 9 23 shall have four county judges. Districts 1, 7, 8, and 10 shall have 24

25 three county judges.

-5-

1

2

3

4

5

6

7

8

Judge of the county court shall include any person appointed to the office of county judge or municipal judge prior to July 1, 1985, pursuant to Article V, section 21, of the Constitution of Nebraska. Any person serving as a municipal judge in district 3 or 4 immediately prior to July 1, 1985, shall be a judge of the county court and shall be empowered to hear only those cases as provided in section 24-517 which the presiding judge of the county court

9 for such district, with the concurrence of the Supreme Court, shall 10 direct.

Sec. 4. Section 43-2,119, Reissue Revised Statutes of
Nebraska, is amended to read:

13 43-2,119 (1) The number of judges of the separate
14 juvenile court in counties which have established a separate
15 juvenile court shall be:

16 (a) Two judges in counties having seventy-five thousand
17 inhabitants but less than two hundred thousand inhabitants;

(b) Three Four judges in counties having at least two
hundred thousand inhabitants but less than four hundred thousand
inhabitants; and

21 (c) Five judges in counties having four hundred thousand22 inhabitants or more.

(2) The senior judge in point of service as a juvenile
court judge shall be the presiding judge. The judges shall rotate
the office of presiding judge every three years unless the judges

LB 377

-6-

LB 377

1 agree to another system.

Sec. 5. This act becomes operative on July 1, 2007.
Sec. 6. Original section 43-2,119, Reissue Revised
Statutes of Nebraska, and sections 24-201.01, 24-301.02, and
24-503, Revised Statutes Cumulative Supplement, 2006, are repealed.
Sec. 7. Since an emergency exists, this act takes effect
when passed and approved according to law.