E AND R AMENDMENTS TO LB 377

Introduced by Enrollment and Review Committee: McGill, 26, Chairperson

1. Strike the original sections and all amendments thereto and insert the following new sections:

Section 1. Section 24-201.01, Revised Statutes Cumulative Supplement, 2006, is amended to read:

24-201.01 On July 1, 2002, the salary of the Chief Justice and judges of the Supreme Court shall be one hundred nineteen thousand two hundred seventy-six dollars. On July 1, 2005, the salary of the Chief Justice and the judges of the Supreme Court shall be one hundred twenty-two thousand eight hundred fifty-four dollars. On July 1, 2006, the salary of the Chief Justice and the judges of the Supreme Court shall be one hundred twenty-six thousand eight hundred forty-six dollars. On July 1, 2007, the salary of the Chief Justice and the judges of the Supreme Court shall be one hundred thirty-one thousand two hundred eighty-five dollars and sixty-one cents. On July 1, 2008, the salary of the Chief Justice and the judges of the Supreme Court shall be one hundred thirty-five thousand eight hundred eighty dollars and sixty cents.

The Chief Justice and the judges of the Supreme Court shall hold no other public office of profit or trust during their terms of office nor accept any public appointment or employment under the authority of the government of the United States for which they receive compensation for their services. Such salaries

-1-

shall be payable in equal monthly installments.

Sec. 2. Section 24-301.02, Revised Statutes Cumulative Supplement, 2006, is amended to read:

24-301.02 The State of Nebraska shall be divided into the following twelve district court judicial districts:

District No. 1 shall contain the counties of Clay, Nuckolls, Saline, Jefferson, Gage, Thayer, Johnson, Pawnee, Nemaha, Fillmore, and Richardson;

District No. 2 shall contain the counties of Sarpy, Cass, and Otoe;

District No. 3 shall contain the county of Lancaster;

District No. 4 shall contain the county of Douglas;

District No. 5 shall contain the counties of Merrick, Platte, Colfax, Boone, Nance, Hamilton, Polk, York, Butler, Seward, and Saunders;

District No. 6 shall contain the counties of Dixon, Dakota, Cedar, Burt, Thurston, Dodge, and Washington;

District No. 7 shall contain the counties of Knox, Cuming, Antelope, Pierce, Wayne, Madison, and Stanton;

District No. 8 shall contain the counties of Cherry, Keya Paha, Brown, Rock, Blaine, Loup, Custer, Boyd, Holt, Garfield, Wheeler, Valley, Greeley, Sherman, and Howard;

District No. 9 shall contain the counties of Buffalo and Hall;

District No. 10 shall contain the counties of Adams, Phelps, Kearney, Harlan, Franklin, and Webster;

District No. 11 shall contain the counties of Hooker,

-2-

ER8109 LB377 KLM-05/10/2007

Thomas, Arthur, McPherson, Logan, Keith, Perkins, Lincoln, Dawson, Chase, Hayes, Frontier, Gosper, Dundy, Hitchcock, Red Willow, and Furnas; and

District No. 12 shall contain the counties of Sioux, Dawes, Box Butte, Sheridan, Scotts Bluff, Morrill, Garden, Banner, Kimball, Cheyenne, Grant, and Deuel.

In the fourth district there shall be sixteen judges of the district court. In the third district there shall be seven judges of the district court. In the twelfth district there shall be five judges of the district court. In the second, fifth, <u>ninth</u>, <u>eleventh</u>, <u>and twelfth</u> and <u>eleventh</u> districts there shall be four judges of the district court. In the first₇ sixth, and <u>ninth</u> and <u>sixth</u> districts there shall be three judges of the district court. In the seventh, eighth, and tenth districts there shall be two judges of the district court.

Sec. 3. Section 24-503, Revised Statutes Cumulative Supplement, 2006, is amended to read:

24-503 For the purpose of serving the county courts in each county, twelve county judge districts are hereby created:

District No. 1 shall contain the counties of Saline, Jefferson, Gage, Thayer, Johnson, Pawnee, Nemaha, and Richardson;

District No. 2 shall contain the counties of Sarpy, Cass, and Otoe;

District No. 3 shall contain the county of Lancaster;

District No. 4 shall contain the county of Douglas;

District No. 5 shall contain the counties of Merrick, Platte, Colfax, Boone, Nance, Hamilton, Polk, York, Butler, Seward,

-3-

ER8109 LB377 KLM-05/10/2007 ER8109 LB377 KLM-05/10/2007

and Saunders;

District No. 6 shall contain the counties of Dixon, Dakota, Cedar, Burt, Thurston, Dodge, and Washington;

District No. 7 shall contain the counties of Knox, Cuming, Antelope, Pierce, Wayne, Madison, and Stanton;

District No. 8 shall contain the counties of Cherry, Keya Paha, Brown, Rock, Blaine, Loup, Custer, Boyd, Holt, Garfield, Wheeler, Valley, Greeley, Sherman, and Howard;

District No. 9 shall contain the counties of Buffalo and Hall;

District No. 10 shall contain the counties of Fillmore, Adams, Clay, Phelps, Kearney, Harlan, Franklin, Webster, and Nuckolls;

District No. 11 shall contain the counties of Hooker, Thomas, Arthur, McPherson, Logan, Keith, Perkins, Lincoln, Dawson, Chase, Hayes, Frontier, Gosper, Dundy, Hitchcock, Red Willow, and Furnas; and

District No. 12 shall contain the counties of Sioux, Dawes, Box Butte, Sheridan, Scotts Bluff, Morrill, Garden, Banner, Kimball, Cheyenne, Grant, and Deuel.

District 4 shall have twelve county judges. Districts 3_7 5_7 and 12 and 5 shall have six county judges. District 11 Districts <u>11 and 12</u> shall have five county judges. Districts 2, 6, and 9 shall have four county judges. Districts 1, 7, 8, and 10 shall have three county judges.

Judge of the county court shall include any person appointed to the office of county judge or municipal judge prior

-4-

ER8109 ER8109 LB377 LB377 KLM-05/10/2007 KLM-05/10/2007 to July 1, 1985, pursuant to Article V, section 21, of the Constitution of Nebraska.

Any person serving as a municipal judge in district 3 or 4 immediately prior to July 1, 1985, shall be a judge of the county court and shall be empowered to hear only those cases as provided in section 24-517 which the presiding judge of the county court for such district, with the concurrence of the Supreme Court, shall direct.

Sec. 4. Section 43-2,119, Reissue Revised Statutes of Nebraska, is amended to read:

43-2,119 (1) The number of judges of the separate juvenile court in counties which have established a separate juvenile court shall be:

(a) Two judges in counties having seventy-five thousand inhabitants but less than two hundred thousand inhabitants;

(b) Three Four judges in counties having at least two hundred thousand inhabitants but less than four hundred thousand inhabitants; and

(c) Five judges in counties having four hundred thousand inhabitants or more.

(2) The senior judge in point of service as a juvenile court judge shall be the presiding judge. The judges shall rotate the office of presiding judge every three years unless the judges agree to another system.

Sec. 5. This act becomes operative on July 1, 2007.

Sec. 6. Original section 43-2,119, Reissue Revised Statutes of Nebraska, and sections 24-201.01, 24-301.02, and

-5-

24-503, Revised Statutes Cumulative Supplement, 2006, are repealed.

Sec. 7. Since an emergency exists, this act takes effect when passed and approved according to law.

2. On page 1, strike beginning with "24-301.02" in line 1 through line 5 and insert "43-2,119, Reissue Revised Statutes of Nebraska, and sections 24-201.01, 24-301.02, and 24-503, Revised Statutes Cumulative Supplement, 2006; to change salary provisions of judges; to reallocate district, county, and separate juvenile court judgeships; to provide an operative date; to repeal the original sections; and to declare an emergency.".