AMENDMENTS TO LB 377

Introduced by Ashford, 20

1 1. Insert the following section: 2 Section 1. Section 24-201.01, Revised Statutes Cumulative 3 Supplement, 2006, is amended to read: 24-201.01 On July 1, 2002, the salary of the Chief 4 5 Justice and judges of the Supreme Court shall be one hundred 6 nineteen thousand two hundred seventy-six dollars. On July 1, 2005, 7 the salary of the Chief Justice and the judges of the Supreme Court 8 shall be one hundred twenty-two thousand eight hundred fifty-four 9 dollars. On July 1, 2006, the salary of the Chief Justice and 10 the judges of the Supreme Court shall be one hundred twenty-six 11 thousand eight hundred forty-six dollars. On July 1, 2007, the 12 salary of the Chief Justice and the judges of the Supreme Court 13 shall be one hundred thirty-three thousand five hundred five 14 dollars and forty-one cents. On July 1, 2008, the salary of the 15 Chief Justice and the judges of the Supreme Court shall be one 16 hundred forty thousand five hundred fourteen dollars and one cent. 17 The Chief Justice and the judges of the Supreme Court

18 shall hold no other public office of profit or trust during their 19 terms of office nor accept any public appointment or employment 20 under the authority of the government of the United States for 21 which they receive compensation for their services. Such salaries 22 shall be payable in equal monthly installments.

23 Sec. 3. Section 24-503, Revised Statutes Cumulative

-1-

AM1099 LB377 NPN-04/23/2007 AM1099 LB377 NPN-04/23/2007

Supplement, 2006, is amended to read: 1 2 24-503 For the purpose of serving the county courts in 3 each county, twelve county judge districts are hereby created: District No. 1 shall contain the counties of Saline, 4 5 Jefferson, Gage, Thayer, Johnson, Pawnee, Nemaha, and Richardson; 6 District No. 2 shall contain the counties of Sarpy, Cass, 7 and Otoe; 8 District No. 3 shall contain the county of Lancaster; 9 District No. 4 shall contain the county of Douglas; 10 District No. 5 shall contain the counties of Merrick, 11 Platte, Colfax, Boone, Nance, Hamilton, Polk, York, Butler, Seward, 12 and Saunders; District No. 6 shall contain the counties of Dixon, 13 14 Dakota, Cedar, Burt, Thurston, Dodge, and Washington; 15 District No. 7 shall contain the counties of Knox, 16 Cuming, Antelope, Pierce, Wayne, Madison, and Stanton; 17 District No. 8 shall contain the counties of Cherry, Keya Paha, Brown, Rock, Blaine, Loup, Custer, Boyd, Holt, Garfield, 18 19 Wheeler, Valley, Greeley, Sherman, and Howard; 20 District No. 9 shall contain the counties of Buffalo and 21 Hall; 22 District No. 10 shall contain the counties of Fillmore, 23 Adams, Clay, Phelps, Kearney, Harlan, Franklin, Webster, and 24 Nuckolls; 25 District No. 11 shall contain the counties of Hooker, 26 Thomas, Arthur, McPherson, Logan, Keith, Perkins, Lincoln, Dawson, 27 Chase, Hayes, Frontier, Gosper, Dundy, Hitchcock, Red Willow, and

-2-

AM1099 LB377 NPN-04/23/2007

1 Furnas; and

2 District No. 12 shall contain the counties of Sioux,
3 Dawes, Box Butte, Sheridan, Scotts Bluff, Morrill, Garden, Banner,
4 Kimball, Cheyenne, Grant, and Deuel.

5 District 4 shall have twelve county judges. Districts 3_7 6 5_7 and 12 and 5 shall have six county judges. District 11 Districts 7 <u>11 and 12</u> shall have five county judges. Districts 2, 6, and 9 8 shall have four county judges. Districts 1, 7, 8, and 10 shall have 9 three county judges.

Judge of the county court shall include any person appointed to the office of county judge or municipal judge prior to July 1, 1985, pursuant to Article V, section 21, of the Constitution of Nebraska.

Any person serving as a municipal judge in district 3 or 4 immediately prior to July 1, 1985, shall be a judge of the county court and shall be empowered to hear only those cases as provided in section 24-517 which the presiding judge of the county court for such district, with the concurrence of the Supreme Court, shall direct.

Sec. 4. Section 43-2,119, Reissue Revised Statutes of
Nebraska, is amended to read:

43-2,119 (1) The number of judges of the separate
juvenile court in counties which have established a separate
juvenile court shall be:

(a) Two judges in counties having seventy-five thousand
inhabitants but less than two hundred thousand inhabitants;

27 (b) Three Four judges in counties having at least two

-3-

AM1099 LB377 NPN-04/23/2007

hundred thousand inhabitants but less than four hundred thousand
 inhabitants; and

3 (c) Five judges in counties having four hundred thousand4 inhabitants or more.

5 (2) The senior judge in point of service as a juvenile 6 court judge shall be the presiding judge. The judges shall rotate 7 the office of presiding judge every three years unless the judges 8 agree to another system.

9 2. On page 3, strike beginning with "In" in line 10 10 through the period in line 11 and show as stricken; in line 12 11 strike "and eleventh", show as stricken, and insert "<u>eleventh</u>, 12 <u>and twelfth</u>"; in line 18 strike "24-301.02" and insert "43-2,119, 13 Reissue Revised Statutes of Nebraska, and sections 24-201.01, 14 24-301.02, and 24-503"; and in line 19 strike "is" and insert 15 "are".

16

3. Renumber the remaining sections accordingly.